Models and frameworks

There are a range of information literacy models; below are just a few. Get in touch if there are any others you would like us to include.

CILIP Information Literacy model

CILIP have developed an information literacy model that contains eight competencies / understandings that a person requires to be information literate:

  • a need for information
  • the resources available
  • how to find information
  • need to evaluate results
  • how to work with or exploit results
  • ethics and responsibility of use
  • how to communicate or share your finding
  • how to manage your findings.

SCONUL Seven Pillars of Information Literacy

The Society of College, National and University Libraries (SCONUL) developed the Seven Pillars of Information Literacy model in 1999, and the most recent version was published in 2011. The latest version recognises that becoming information literate “is not a linear process”, rather, individuals can take different paths to become information literate and may learn different skills at different points.

The following ‘lenses’ have been created which take the seven pillars and observe them through the eyes of individuals engaged in the following types of activities:

A New Curriculum for Information Literacy (ANCIL)

ANCIL was developed as the result of a research project by Emma Coonan and Jane Secker. The aim of which was to develop a new approach to information literacy teaching and learning that was suitable for the skills required of a 21st century higher education student. The curriculum contains ten strands which take a holistic view of information literacy learning and place it within a wider context.

The authors of ANCIL also edited an accompanying book, Rethinking Information Literacy: A practical framework for supporting learning, which gives examples and case studies of how ANCIL can be applied to a wide range of settings.

National Information Literacy Framework (Scotland)

This framework divides information literacy learning into different levels, depending upon the level of education. These level of information literacy have been mapped against the Scottish Credit Qualification Framework (SCQF).

The draft framework is available here.

Education Scotland have a website dedicated to information and critical literacy, which is based upon the outputs of the framework.

National Information Literacy Framework (Wales)

As part of the Welsh Information Literacy Project, Welsh Libraries have developed an Information Literacy Framework for Wales, which is bilingual. The framework maps learning and skills from Entry Level 1 up to Doctoral level, and links to the Credit and Qualifications Framework for Wales.

The Welsh Information Literacy Project website includes case studies and an overview of how IL relates to activities in schools, workplaces, academic libraries, etc.

Other models

The following are other prominent models and frameworks you may wish to explore:

The  International Association of University Libraries (IATUL)  Special Interest Group for Information Literacy‘s report on Information Literacy Policies and Standards at IATUL Member Libraries summarises the results of a survey conducted between July 2013 and February 2014 to examine the national information literacy standards and frameworks in 13 countries and the institutional guidelines, frameworks, and policies of 100 academic libraries.