Information Literacy Journal Club – 16 March 2017

The next Information Literacy Journal Club discussion is taking place this Thursday, March 16th, starting at 8pm UK time (4pm EST, 9pm Norway).

The article chosen for discussion is “An assessment of library instruction: its influence on search behaviour of first- and third-year students” by Torunn Skofsrud Boger, Hanne Dybvik, Anne-Lise Eng and Else Helene Norheim, which was published in the Journal of Information Literacy in 2016.

The article presents the results of a follow-up study conducted at Østfold University College in 2015, which set out to examine information resource use among students of nursing and teacher education. The first study was presented in an article published in the Journal of Information Literacy Vol. 9 No. 1 (Boger et al., 2015). The two qualitative studies were carried out by interviewing the students about their skills in information retrieval, and observing them. The results show differences in search behaviour between first-year and third-year students, a decrease in the use of Google, and a difference between the students from the nursing faculty and the teacher education faculty.

The authors are all academic librarians at the Østfold University College, situated south of Oslo, the capital of Norway. Else has a Masters degree in English language and literature, Hanne has a Masters degree in Educational science, and Anne-Lise has a Masters degree in Pedagogy. Torunn will defend her Master thesis in Organization and Leadership in May.

How does the discussion work?

Anyone can join the discussion!  Participants aim to read at least some of the article in advance, then come along to the discussion webpage at 8pm BST and join in the discussion by adding comments to the blog post. You can see how this works by looking at previous discussions on the site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *